Editor’s note: This announcement comes from Dr. Sweta Baniya (Virginia Tech). Please contact her at baniya@vt.edu if you have any questions about the event. 
———————-
One Year of Covid-19: How Women Across the World Are Coping, Managing, and Resisting Covid-19
Date: Dec 07, 2020

Time: 9:00-10:30 AM EST, (2 PM GMT)

10 AM in Puerto Rico, 7:45 PM in Nepal, and 3 PM in Nigeria 

Registration Required: https://tinyurl.com/yyee6hnd

Event Details: https://tinyurl.com/y4hv9gml 

Featured Speakers: Dr. Ricia Anne Chansky, University of Puerto Rico at Mayagüez, Puerto Rico, Dr. Neeti Aryal Khanal, Tribhuvan University, Nepal and Ms. Tosin Akibu, UN-WOMEN, Nigeria 

Moderated by: Dr. Sweta Baniya, Virginia Tech University
In this event, we are inviting speakers and scholars from various disciplines, profession, and communities who have transnational research expertise on feminist work in a disaster, community work experience on disasters like pandemics. December 2020 will mark a year of Covid-19 pandemic which has challenged human civilization in a way we have never seen before.  In this regard, the gender perspective on COVID-19 is a matter that is often ignored specially because women are considered vulnerable and not able to manage a disaster. In this regard, this event will create a space for scholars and practitioners to share with the Virginia Tech community: 

a. The impacts of COVID-19 on women globally

b. Women’s Disaster Management as well as coping, managing, and resisting strategies

c.  How feminist perspective will be helpful in managing the disaster?

This event will feature speakers from Nepal, Nigeria, and Puerto Rico. This global discussion and interaction will be very beneficial as we all move through and are coping with the aftereffects of Covid-19 in our own ways. This event will create an opportunity for all of us to understand the leadership aspects of women globally in order to cope with the virus.

Questions should be directed towards Dr. Sweta Baniya (baniya@vt.edu)

More information here: https://tinyurl.com/y4hv9gml

Leave A Comment

4 × one =

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,578 other subscribers